Europea

The Europea project is committed to creating a new landscape and restoring prestige to this renowned site. Europea is being built on a foundation of sustainable development, with strong architectural and urbanistic traits. It is a unique project with 590 new homes, a modern and friendly business district, leisure and walking areas, and parks and gardens filled with lakes and natural life. Europea is the birth of a truly smart city.

Scroll down

The Heysel site opens up to the future

The city of Brussels has set itself the objective of enhancing the everyday life of its inhabitants and reinforcing its international attractiveness by creating an ambitious urban project on the Heysel plateau. This unique site receives over 5 million visitors a year and is ideally located at the heart of Europe’s capital. The location is stategic for Brussels because of its local development and touristic attractiveness.

The current priority is to create a new residential district which will initiate a new economic dynamic by combining all the existing economic components, building ecologically sound and easily accessible accommodation and a new world class tourist, leisure and retail destination.

<em>The Heysel site</em> opens up to the future

A unique tourist destination, a new urban model to live together better

<em>A unique tourist destination, a new urban model</em> to live together better

Europea is a new part of the city, unique in its programming and exemplary in its conception. A true landscape district, for all generations, which will offer an exceptional quality of life for the inhabitants of Brussels.

Its world class cultural, commercial and leisure program, unparalleled in Brussels, has been designed in perfect synergy with the other amenities of this historic site: the exhibition centre, and the Atomium. Together they create an exceptional tourist centre, with an international reputation, which will receive visitors from across the world.

Europea will allow Brussel’s new ambition to come to life.

Combining Innovation and excellence in the district of tomorrow

“ Europea is an invention: a landscaped district and at the same time a place for living and a tourist destination. ”

– Jean-Paul Viguier

Supervising architect for Europea

More
Combining Innovation and excellence in the district of tomorrow
Close
Combining Innovation and excellence in the district of tomorrow

Combining Innovation and excellence in the district of tomorrow

  • Creation of a unique landscape district in Europe, designed by the architect Jean-Paul Viguier and the agency Art&Build
  • A new 3.5 hectare landscaped park accessible to the public and the local population
  • An intergenerational location which welcomes all individuals: residential accommodation, a retirement home, day nurseries, offices, etc
  • A “smart city” with an environmental design
  • A world class tourist, shopping and leisure destination with Mall of Europe
  • New international retail names unknown in Belgium
  • Spirouland, the Cité des Enfants / Children’s City, the Euroville discovery itinerary, an exclusive range of indoor and outdoor leisure activities and a destination for the whole family
  • Proximity services for all the local population, digital innovation
  • A new Art district with the Europ’Art promenade

THE CREATION OF THE LANDSCAPE DISTRICT

The architectural intention for Europea consists of creating a residential park and public spaces on more than 3 hectares, positioned above all the retail and leisure activities, offering a new district with an exceptional appearance. The inhabited hill is designed as a true urban park with residential buildings opening up above it, and which encompasses gardens, rest areas, games for children, and outdoor fountains. The Europ’Art promenade combines landscape and works of art. The Atomium Esplanade is a spectacular space where waterfalls complement large lawns, offering a new perspective on the Atomium and the Heysel plateau.

These new spaces and promenades facilitate mobility and unify the site between the Roi Baudouin and Heysel métro stations.

The mixed character of the residential district

“ Europea meshes perfectly with our policy of developing mixed urban projects in which the city and the district are re-configured, to the benefit of the resident. This multifunctional project will be a benchmark for cities of the future. ”

– Renaud Bentegeat

Managing Director, CFE

More
The mixed character of the residential district
Close
The mixed character of the residential district

The mixed character of the residential district

The residential programme encourages a social and intergenerational mix.
Each multiple orientation volume defines its own silhouette, stands out clearly, to create perspectives between the public spaces and the interior of the district. Loggias and balconies open onto the city, the sky and the gardens.

  • 590 residences of which 90 are public housing
  • A variety of typologies: compact buildings with gardens, high buildings with a view over the Atomium and Brussels
  • 2 day nurseries
  • 1 day centre and retirement home

A perfect urban integration

“ Besix, the largest Belgian group in the construction sector, is extremely proud to contribute to the urban development of the Brussels Region and to the creation of Europea. The Heysel plateau is ideally located to receive a new, varied and balanced urban space. This new multifunctional district, included in the vast NEO programme whose second tranche of the tender competition also provides for the creation of a new conference centre. This will contribute to the social and economic development of Brussels. ”

– Johan Beerlandt

Chief Executive Officer BESIX Group

More
A perfect urban integration
Close
A perfect urban integration

A perfect urban integration

The entrances to the residential buildings and offices also contribute to the urban dynamic.

A major row of shops opens directly onto the avenue Houba de Strooper, incorporated into a spectacular façade revealing the richness of the ensemble. A canopy protects the public from the weather as they pass. Multiple openings between the residential buildings enable access from the street to the promenades and the residential hill. Special emphasis has been placed on accessibility and movement through the district for people with reduced mobility

Avenue Houba de Strooper shopping frontage

Adding excitment to the city

The Market square is a special place, covered, and open to all. It is a place to meet before going to the cinema, for meeting on the café terrace, discovering the organic market or the cultural programme on offer. As a central space for the project, it provides a connection between the existing public routes and the new public, commercial and leisure spaces at Europea.

<em>Adding excitment</em> to the city

THE EUROP’ART ARTISTIC PROMENADE

<em>THE EUROP’ART</em> ARTISTIC PROMENADE

The Europ’Art artistic promenade is a mineral and vegetal space, linking the heart of the district, the Market square, and the Atomium Esplanade. It is one of the open air attractions of the project with an itinerary of monumental contemporary works of art.

This spectacular space, which is freely accessible at all hours of the day, will also accommodate temporary cultural events and exhibitions, particularly within the art gallery, which punctuates the itinerary.

The artistic programme will be established in partnership with the Wiels Contemporary Art Centre in order to guaranty qualitative works of art and create unique cultural events.

A Smart City

The defining principle of Europea consists of locating business and leisure activities under the residential and landscaped installation (the inhabited hill) enabling the creation of a virtuous system:

  • A reduction in demand (envelope, thermal bridges, natural lighting, passive solutions…)
  • The collection and recycling of rain water
  • Passive housing and offices
  • The establishment of energy synergies: a heat exchange loop between the residential and commercial functions.
  • 20% of energy requirements fulfilled by a renewable and real-time scalable source according to levels of consumption.
  • Car parks and delivery spaces shared and located underground
  • Soft modes of travel given precedence: an electric shuttle circuit, bicycle parks
  • BREEAM COMMUNITIES EXCELLENT certification
A worldclass centre for leisure and retail

Mall of Europe : services and proximity

Participants in the project

  • Unibail Rodamco

    The largest listed commercial property company in Europe specialized in large shopping centers in major Europea cities ans large offices and convention & exhibition centers in the Paris region. The group’s portfolio was valued at €32.1 billion on December 31 2013.

  • Besix

    The Belgian leader in construction, the BESIX group operates in all general contracting work: buildings, environment, infrastructures, sports and leisure, maritime and industrial work. The group employs approximately 18,000 people and has a strong international and local presence. BESIX RED, its real estate branch, includes amongst its latest completed projects the Perspective office building in Lille, the Motel One hotel in rue Royale in Brussels, and a very large number of housing developments.

  • CFE

    CFE is a Belgian industrial group which is active in six different sectors: dredging and maritime works, construction, road and rail, multimodal installations, property promotion and management, and public-private partnerships. The group, based in Belgium, is very active in adjacent countries, in Central Europe and in Africa. The property activity is conducted by its property subsidiary BPI. With its accumulated experience and knowledge of the markets, it is a benchmark on the Belgian, Luxemburg and Polish markets. The CFE group, listed on Euronext Brussels, is 60.39% owned by Ackermans & Van Haaren.

Europea

Le projet Europea ambitionne d’ériger un nouveau quartier paysage sur un site qui mérite de retrouver tout son prestige. Europea se construit sur base du développement durable, avec des gestes architecturaux et urbanistiques forts. Une offre sans égal de 590 logements. Un quartier commercial moderne et convivial, des espaces de loisirs et de promenade, des parcs et des jardins où l’eau et la nature sont le dénominateur commun. Europea est la naissance d’une véritable smart city.

Scroll down

Le site du Heysel s’ouvre vers l’avenir

Les autorités bruxelloises ambitionnent d’améliorer le quotidien des habitants et de renforcer l’attractivité internationale de la capitale en réalisant un projet urbain qualitatif et de premier plan sur le plateau du Heysel. Ce site unique qui accueille plus de 5 millions de visiteurs par an, idéalement situé au coeur de la capitale de l’Europe, est stratégique pour Bruxelles, tant pour son développement local que touristique national et international.

Aujourd’hui l’enjeu prioritaire est de créer ici un nouveau quartier de vie, initier une nouvelle dynamique économique en conjuguant l’ensemble des piliers économiques existants, construire des logements écologiques accessibles à tous et offrir une nouvelle destination de tourisme, de loisirs et commerces.

<em>Le site du Heysel</em> s’ouvre vers l’avenir

Une destination touristique unique, un nouveau modèle urbain pour mieux vivre ensemble

<em>Une destination touristique unique, un nouveau modèle urbain</em> pour mieux vivre ensemble

Europea est un nouveau morceau de ville, unique par sa programmation, exemplaire par sa conception. Véritable quartier paysage, lieu intergénérationnel, il offrira une qualité de vie exceptionnelle aux Bruxellois.

Sa programmation culturelle, commerciale et de loisirs de classe mondiale, inédite à Bruxelles, a été conçue en parfaite synergie avec les autres équipements de ce site historique, Brussels Expo, l’Atomium,… Ensemble, ils forment un pôle touristique d’exception, au rayonnement international, qui accueillera les visiteurs du monde entier et prolongera leur séjour dans la capitale européenne.

Europea crée un lieu et du lien, c’est là que la nouvelle ambition de Bruxelles prend vie.

L’innovation et l’excellence d’un quartier du futur

“ Europea est une invention : celle d’un quartier paysage à la fois lieu de vie et destination touristique. ”

– Jean-Paul Viguier

Maître architecte d’Europea

More
L’innovation et l’excellence d’un quartier du futur
Close
L’innovation et l’excellence d’un quartier du futur

L’innovation et l’excellence d’un quartier du futur

  • La création d’un quartier paysage unique en Europe, imaginé par l’architecte Jean-Paul Viguier et l’agence Art&Build
  • Un nouveau parc paysagé de 3,5 hectares accessible au public et aux riverains
  • Un lieu de vie intergénérationnel : des logements de qualité pour tous, une seniorerie, des crèches, des bureaux…
  • Une nouvelle signature architecturale pour Bruxelles
  • Une conception environnementale exemplaire, véritable « smart city »
  • Une destination tourisme, shopping et loisirs de classe mondiale avec Mall of Europe
  • De nouvelles enseignes internationales, inédites en Belgique
  • Spirouland, la Cité des Enfants, le parcours découvertes Euroville, une offre de loisirs indoor et outdoor exclusive et à destination de
    toute la famille
  • Le meilleur de l’innovation digitale et des services de proximité pour l’ensemble des riverains
  • La création et l’Art au coeur du quartier avec Europ’Art et les jardins découvertes

L’invention du Quartier paysage

Le parti pris architectural d’Europea consiste à créer un parc résidentiel et des espaces publics sur plus de 3 hectares au-dessus de l’ensemble des activités de commerce et de loisirs, offrant ainsi au nouveau quartier un visage exceptionnel. La colline habitée est imaginée comme un véritable parc urbain sur lequel s’ouvrent les immeubles de logements et accueille des jardins, des aires de repos, des jeux pour enfants, des animations d’eau. La promenade d’art Europ’Art conjugue paysage et oeuvres d’art à ciel ouvert. L’Esplanade de l’Atomium est un espace spectaculaire où les cascades d’eau répondent aux larges pelouses et offre une nouvelle perspective sur l’Atomium et le plateau du Heysel.

Ces nouveaux espaces et promenades favorisent la mobilité douce et unifient le site entre les arrêts de métro Roi Baudouin et Heysel.

La mixité des logements

“ Europea cadre parfaitement avec notre positionnement de développer des projets mixtes urbains dans lesquels la ville et le quartier sont replacés au bénéfice de l’habitant. Ce projet multifonctionnel sera une référence pour la ville de demain. ”

– Renaud Bentegeat

Administrateur délégué de CFE

More
La mixité des logements
Close
La mixité des logements

La mixité des logements

Le programme résidentiel encourage la mixité sociale et intergénérationnelle.
Chaque volume multi-orienté dessine sa propre silhouette, se détache clairement, pour créer des perspectives et des percées visuelles entre les espaces publics et l’intérieur du quartier. Loggias et balcons s’ouvrent sur la ville, le ciel et les jardins.

  • 590 logements dont 90 logements publics
  • Plusieurs typologies : bâtiments compacts avec jardins, bâtiments hauts avec vue sur l’Atomium et Bruxelles
  • 2 crèches
  • 1 maison de repos et seniorerie

Une Parfaite intégration urbaine

“ Le plateau du Heysel est idéalement situé pour accueillir un nouvel espace urbain varié et équilibré. Ce nouveau quartier multi-fonctionnel servira au développement économique de Bruxelles. ”

– Johan Beerlandt

Chief Executive Officer BESIX Group

More
Une Parfaite intégration urbaine
Close
Une Parfaite intégration urbaine

Une Parfaite intégration urbaine

L’entrée des immeubles de logement et l’implantation de commerces contribuent à l’animation urbaine.

Un linéaire majeur de boutiques s’ouvre directement sur l’avenue Houba de Strooper, intégré à une façade spectaculaire révélant la richesse de l’ensemble.

Une marquise protège le public des intempéries lors de son cheminement. De multiples ouvertures entre les immeubles de logements permettent d’accéder depuis la rue aux promenades et à la colline habitée. Un accent tout particulier a été mis sur la facilité d’accès et de déplacement à travers le quartier pour les personnes à mobilité réduite.

Façade commercante de l’avenue Houba de Strooper

Réinventer le plaisir de la ville

La place du marché est un espace privilégié, couvert et ouvert à tous. On s’y donne rendez-vous pour aller au cinéma, pour se retrouver en terrasse, découvrir le marché bio ou la programmation culturelle proposée.

Espace central du projet, elle assure une connexion entre les axes publics existants et les nouveaux espaces publics, commerciaux et de loisirs d’Europea.

<em>Réinventer le</em> plaisir de la ville

La promenade artistique EUROP’ART

<em>La promenade artistique</em> EUROP’ART

La promenade artistique Europ’Art, espace minéral et végétal reliant le coeur du quartier, la place du Marché, à l’esplanade de l’Atomium, est l’une des attractions à ciel ouvert du projet avec un parcours d’oeuvres d’art contemporaines monumentales.

Cet espace spectaculaire, accessible gratuitement à toute heure de la journée, accueillera également des évènements culturels et des expositions éphémères, notamment à l’intérieur de la galerie d’art qui ponctue le parcours.

La programmation artistique sera établie en partenariat avec le Centre d’Art Contemporain du Wiels afin de garantir une qualité incontestable des oeuvres d’art et des événements culturels.

Une véritable Smart City

Le principe fondateur d’Europea consistant à installer les activités de commerces et de loisirs sous le parc résidentiel et paysager (la colline habitée) permet de créer un système vertueux :

  • La limitation des besoins (enveloppe, ponts thermiques, éclairage naturel, solutions passives…)
  • Collecte et recyclage des eaux de pluie
  • Logements et bureaux passifs
  • Mise en place de synergies énergétiques : boucle d’échange thermique entre les fonctions résidentielles et commerciales.
  • 20 % des besoins en énergie produits localement par une source renouvelable et modulable en temps réel en fonction des consommations.
  • Parkings et espaces livraisons mutualisés et enterrés
  • Modes de déplacement doux privilégiés : circuit de navette électrique, stations de vélos
  • La certification BREEAM COMMUNITIES EXCELLENT
Un pôle de loisirs et de commerces de classe mondiale

Mall of Europe : des Services et de la proximité

Les acteurs du projet

  • Unibail Rodamco

    Premier groupe coté d’immobilier commercial en Europe spécialisé dans les Centres Commerciaux des grandes villes européennes ainsi que dans les Bureaux et centres de Congrès-Expositions à Paris. Le portefeuille du groupe est valorisé à €32,1 milliards au 31 décembre 2013.

  • Besix

    Leader belge de la construction, le groupe BESIX intervient dans l’ensemble des travaux d’entreprise générale : bâtiments, environnement, infrastructures, sports et loisirs, travaux maritimes et industriels. Le groupe emploie environ 18 000 personnes et a une forte présence internationale et locale. BESIX RED, son antenne immobilière, compte parmi ses dernières réalisations l’immeuble de bureaux Perspective à Lille, l’hôtel Motel One rue Royale à Bruxelles, et de très nombreux logements.

  • CFE

    CFE est un groupe industriel belge actif dans six différents secteurs : Dragage et travaux maritimes, Construction, Rail&Routes, Multitechniques, Promotion et gestion immobilières, Partenariats Public-Privé. Le groupe, basé en Belgique, est très actif dans les pays limitrophes, en Europe centrale et en Afrique. L’activité immobilière est réalisée par sa filiale immobilière BPI. Forte de son expérience et de sa connaissance acquise des marchés, elle est une référence sur les marchés belge, luxembourgeois et polonais. Le groupe CFE, coté sur Euronext Brussels, est détenu à 60,39% par Ackermans & Van Haaren.